Jamie Jansson

Jamie joined the maternal health division of AMAG Pharmaceuticals in 2000 as a specialty sales representative. She has advanced in her role since joining the company, having been promoted to her current position. Learn more in our Q&A session with Jamie.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Where did you grow up?

I come from a large family with two sisters and two brothers. All of us are so different, but the best of friends. We grew up in Winneconne, a small town in Wisconsin. As much as I loved growing up in a small town, I was curious about the world around me. I’ve since lived in Madison, Chicago, San Francisco and Denver.

What is your educational background?

I graduated from the University of Wisconsin with a Bachelor of Science degree in sociology.

What brought you into your field?

My dad was in the pharmaceutical/biotech industry for his entire career so I was exposed to the opportunities early in life. However, I had a strong desire from a fairly young age to become a pediatric oncologist. My grandfather and uncle were physicians and both played an instrumental role in my life. I was pre-med in college for the first 3 years; however, late in my third year of college, I changed my life’s direction. I decided that it would be beneficial to see the medical community from the lens of the pharmaceutical/biotech industry. I switched my major to sociology, and graduated the following year. I finished school on a Friday, started with Knoll Pharmaceuticals the next Monday and never looked back. Throughout my career, I’ve gained sales, training and marketing experience.

When did you first know that you wanted to work in biotech?

Within the first year of my career in the industry, I knew this was where I wanted to be. I’ve been fortunate throughout my career to work on products that make a difference in people’s lives. As a mother who experienced a high-risk pregnancy, I am very passionate about maternal health and am energized every day about helping other moms through the work that we do at AMAG.

What do you most enjoy about your current job?

I feel fortunate to work alongside so many talented people. We have a tight-knit team that defines collaboration. Many of us have been working together for years, and my team members are an extension of my family.

What would you most love to be doing in 10 years?

With two little kids, I am focused on life in the moment. In 10 years, my kids will be teenagers and I really look forward to helping them navigate through those important years.

Tell us about some of your interests/hobbies outside of AMAG.

I love spending time with my family, including my husband Stefan and our kids, Sofia Oskar. Living in Colorado, we have the opportunity to play outside all year round. Our kids are still young (5 and 2), so everything we do is really interesting and amazing to them. Our favorite outdoor activities include biking around town and skiing in the mountains (both downhill and cross-country).

What’s something most people don’t know about you?

I have a passion for traveling and exploring different countries and cultures. My husband and I have traveled to so many amazing places. Some of our most treasured places include the beaches of Costa Rica, Zihuatanejo, Istanbul and Bejing.